Sign In

Ohio State Bar Association Affiliates

Untitled Document

The Ohio State Bar Association has several affiliates working to provide services and assistance to the many lawyers, judges, paralegals, teachers and law school students throughout Ohio. The OSBA either founded or helped found all of the affiliates. Some are for-profit and some are nonprofit. Each affiliate has its own board or other entity in charge in which the OSBA has input into the makeup. Information regarding each organization is included below.

OSBA affiliates (with links to their respective websites) include the:


Law and Leadership Institute (LLI)

The Law and Leadership Institute, LLC (LLI) is a statewide initiative in collaboration with the legal community that inspires and prepares students from underserved communities for post-secondary and professional success through a comprehensive four-year academic program in law, leadership, analytical thinking, problem solving, writing skills and professionalism. LLI successfully obtained status as a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt non-profit organization in 2010. It is governed by a board of directors of seventeen members consisting of representatives of the Ohio legal community that includes one designee of the OSBA, one designee of the Ohio Center for Law-Related Education, one designee of the Supreme Court of Ohio and one designee of the Consortium of Metropolitan Bar Associations.

Address
1700 Lake Shore Drive
Columbus, Ohio  43204

LLI Staff

Name ​Title ​Email ​Phone
​Steve Jemison CEO sjemison@lawandleadership.org ​(614) 485-3504
​Heather Creed ​COO hcreed@lawandleadership.org (614) 485-3504
​Rachel Wilson ​Program Director
rwilson@lawandleadership.org (614) 485-3504
​Robin M. Hegedus, CPA ​Accountant ​rhegedus@oclre.org (614) 485-3504
 
LLI Board of Directors
 
Name Title/Organization
​Steve Jemison, Esq. ​President and CEO, Law and Leadership Institute, LLC
​Stuart F. Cubbon ​Treasurer, Law and Leadership Institute, LLC
Partner and President, Cubbon & Associates
​Lisa L. Eschleman Secretary, Law and Leadership Institute, LLC
Executive Director, Ohio Center for Law-Related Education
​Howard Bell ​Executive Director of Pre-Law Programs
Kaplan Test Prep and Admissions
Pariss M. Coleman II
​Partner, Cooper and Kowalski, LPA
​Paul N. Harris ​Executive Vice President, Secretary and General Counsel
KeyCorp
Melissa Kendralla
​Educator, South-Western City School District
​Hugh McKay, Esq. ​Partner-in-Charge of the Porter, Wright, Morris & Arthur Cleveland Office
Porter, Wright, Morris & Arthur
​Alan Michaels ​Dean and Edwin M. Cooperman Professor of Law
The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law
​Michael L. Robinson, Esq. ​Attorney at Law
​Nancy H. Rogers ​Professor Emeritus of Law
The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law
​Honorable Jeffrey S. Sutton ​U.S. Court of Appeals Sixth Circuit
​Carl Smallwood, Esq. ​Partner, Vorys Columbus Office
Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease, LLP
 

Ohio Bar Liability Insurance Company (OBLIC)

Founded by the OSBA in 1979, the Ohio Bar Liability Insurance Company was one of the first companies in the country formed solely to provide professional liability insurance to lawyers and has been a positive force in the competitive marketplace ever since. The organization keeps the malpractice needs of Ohio attorneys as its top concern, devising plans for part-time and employed lawyers, providing a claims-free discount for those individuals who have been without a malpractice claim. It has provided, and will continue to provide, insurance availability at a reasonable price.

Address
1650 Lake Shore Drive
P.O. Box 2708
Columbus, Ohio 43216-2708
(614) 488-7924

Name Title Email
Steve Couch
President and CEO

scouch@oblic.com

Frederick Hunker

Vice President of Claims, Attorney

hunker@oblic.com

Gretchen Koehler Mote

Claims Counsel

gmote@oblic.com

Christine Thrall

Accounting Technician

cthrall@oblic.com

Angela E. Poe

Underwriter

apoe@oblic.com

Linda L. Shaw

Underwriter

lshaw@oblic.com

Rachel Ritchie

New Business Underwriter

rritchie@oblic.com

Carol Ross

Underwriting Support Staff

cross@oblic.com

Brandy M. Barozzini

Administrative Assistant

bbarozzini@oblic.com

Antionette M. Goff

Director of Information Technology

agoff@oblic.com
​Rodney McGough ​Director of Finance and Accounting rmcgough@oblic.com


OBLIC Board of Directors

Name

Title

Location

John S. Stith

Chair

Cincinnati

Joseph T. Svete

Vice-Chair

Chardon

Steve Couch

President

Columbus

Denny L. Ramey

Treasurer

Columbus

Paula L. Brooks

Member

Columbus

Pariss M. Coleman II

Member

Toledo

Barbara J. Howard

Member

Cincinnati

James R. Jeffery

Member

Toledo

Thomas D. Lammers

Member

Celina

Doloris F. Learmonth

Member

Cincinnati

Jordan A. Miller Jr.

Member

Columbus

​Martin E. Mohler ​Member ​Toledo

Frederick L. Oremus

Member

Athens

Heather G. Sowald

Member

Columbus

Thomas M. Taggart

Member

Columbus

Michael Victor ​Member ​Painesville

Robin G. Weaver

Member

Cleveland

​Linde Hurst Webb ​Member ​Sylvania

James M. Wiles

Member

Columbus

Ohio Center for Law-Related Education (OCLRE)

The Ohio Center for Law-Related Education is an organization that partners with teachers to bring citizenship to life for students. Its core purpose is to improve society by developing citizens empowered with an understanding of our democratic system. Some of the programs offered to engage students from grades 4-12 include Project Citizen, Youth for Justice, We the People and Mock Trial for both high school and middle school. OCLRE also offers conferences, such as the Law and Citizenship conference and the Ohio Government in Action conference. Both allow teachers to acquire innovative teaching strategies regarding civic education, government and the law. OCLRE is sponsored by the Supreme Court of Ohio, the Attorney General of Ohio, the Ohio State Bar Association and the ACLU of Ohio Foundation.


Address

1700 Lake Shore Drive
Columbus, Ohio 43204
(877) 485-3510

Name

Title

Email

Lisa Eschleman

Executive Director

leschleman@oclre.org

Jared J. Reitz, M. Ed.

Director of Programs

jreitz@oclre.org

Kate Strickland

Director of Resources

kstrickland@oclre.org

​Todd Burch, Esq. ​Program Coordinator ​tburch@oclre.org

Tim Kalgreen, M. Ed.

Program Coordinator

tkalgreen@oclre.org

Cathy Genest Godfrey

Database Coordinator

cgodfrey@oclre.org

​Amy Mallat ​Operations Manager
amallat@oclre.org


OCLRE Board of Trustees

Marion Smithberger, President, Columbus
Thomas E. Friedman, Secretary, Columbus
Pierce J. Reed, Treasurer, Columbus
Lee Belardo, Avon
Pam Vest Boratyn, Columbus
Gary Daniels, Columbus
Richard A. Dove, Columbus
Daniel G. Hilson, Columbus
William M. Owens, Coshocton

Ohio Lawyers Assistance Program (OLAP)

The Ohio Lawyers Assistance Program is a nonprofit organization dedicated to helping Ohio's judges, attorneys and law students obtain treatment for substance abuse, chemical dependency, addiction and mental health issues. Through OLAP, individuals receive confidential advice about such problems; help in arranging and implementing formal interventions; help in deciding between outpatient, inpatient and other treatment options; and monitoring and aftercare services. OLAP receives funding and other assistance from the Supreme Court of Ohio; the Ohio State Bar Association; the Ohio Bar Liability Insurance Company; and local bar associations around Ohio.

Address
1650 Lake Shore Drive
Suite 375
Columbus, OH 43204-4991

Name  Title  Email

Phone

Scott R. Mote

Executive Director

smote@ohiolap.org

(800) 348-4343

Stephanie S. Krznarich

Clinical Director

skrznarich@ohiolap.org

(800) 348-4343

Megan R. Snyder

Clinical Associate

msnyder@ohiolap.org

(800) 348-4343

Paul A. Caimi

Associate Director

pcaimi@ohiolap.org

(800) 618-8606

Patrick J. Garry

Associate Director

pgarry@ohiolap.org

(513) 623-9853

Ohio State Bar Association Insurance Agency (OSBAIA)

OSBA Insurance Agency was created in 1993 to provide insurance to members of the Ohio State Bar Association and has recently began representing the Ohio Bar Liability Insurance Company to provide its products to OSBA members as well. OSBAIA works with lawyers, paralegals and law school students to develop plans based on individual needs. OSBAIA provides many different types of coverage and works with a number of insurance providers to get the best products and rates for you. The OSBAIA provides the opportunity to achieve better pricing and features for some products that would be unobtainable otherwise.

Address
1650 Lake Shore Drive
Columbus, Ohio 43204
Contact (855) 745-9222 to speak to a live agent or email us at insurance@osbainsuranceagency.com.

Name Title Email Phone
​Steve Couch ​Director of Insurance Agency
scouch@oblic.com ​(614) 488-7924
Danna Blackburn Sales Executive dblackburn@osbainsuranceagency.com (614) 572-0616
Tammy Thornton Senior Sales Executive tthornton@osbainsuranceagency.com (614) 572-0616


OSBAIA Board of Directors

Name

Title

Location

Rick Bannister

Board Member

Columbus

Alan Berliner

Board Member

Columbus

Shirley Christian

Steve Couch

Board Member

Board Member

Salem

Columbus

Roger S. Gates

Board Member

Hamilton

Michael Mearan

Board Member

Portsmouth

​Said M. Orra
​Board Member
​Toledo
​Ronald C. Todd II ​Board Member ​Dayton
​Barbara F. Yaksic ​Board Member ​Beachwood

Ohio State Bar Foundation (OSBF)

The Ohio State Bar Foundation was formed by the OSBA in 1951 as the charitable arm of the Ohio State Bar Association. The OSBF takes pride in offering Ohio lawyers an opportunity to renew their zeal for the law through expertise and giving. OSBF is a 501(c)(3) charitable organization whose members include attorneys and judges and it is dedicated to the mission of promoting public understanding of the law and improvements in the justice system throughout Ohio. The OSBF awards grants to organizations that embody its mission and recognizing those who have excelled in their professional achievements. The OSBF Fellows Class members single out a legal issue each year, and apply their collective expertise to find a solution. The Foundation enhances pride in the legal profession and increases public confidence in lawyers.

Join its cause.

Address
1700 Lake Shore Drive
Columbus, Ohio  43204

 Name  Title  Email

Phone

Alison M. Belfrage Executive Director abelfrage@osbf.net

(614) 487-4443

Ann G. Zarate, JD Director of Development azarate@osbf.net (614) 487-4477

Beth Ann Gillespie

Program and Events Manager

bgillespie@osbf.net

(614) 487-4474

Staci M. Waterman

Operations Manager

swaterman@osbf.net

(614) 487-4444

​Kate Clements ​Grants and Communications Coordinator
kclements@osbf.net ​(614) 487-4450


OSBF Board of Trustees

Ohio State Legal Services Association (OSLSA)

OSLSA is a nonprofit legal services program, founded in 1966 by the Ohio State Bar Association, which provides assistance and representation to low-income Ohioans on civil legal issues. OSLA has a direct service component (Southeastern Ohio Legal Services) and a state support unit. Its administrative offices and state support unit are located in Columbus. Nine direct service offices serve 30 counties in central and southeastern Ohio. OSLSA receives grants from the Ohio Legal Assistance Foundation and the Legal Services Corporation. It is OSLSA's goal to act as general counsel to the client community and is committed to searching out the patterns, causes, and solutions of the recurring and fundamental legal problems facing the client community, and seeking legal recourse necessary to redress the grievances of clients, both as a community and as individuals.

Address
555 Buttles Avenue
Columbus, Ohio 43215
(800) 589-5888 or (614) 221-7201

Name Title Email

Extension

Thomas W. Weeks

Executive Director

tweeks@oslsa.org

ext. 112

James Daniels

Deputy Director SEOLS

jdaniels@oslsa.org

ext. 109

Eugene R. King

Managing Attorney State Support

gking@oslsa.org

ext. 125

OSLSA Board of Trustees*

Name

Title

Location

Helen M. Hrinko

President

Chandlersville

William Taylor

Vice President

Columbus

Rita Fuchsman

Treasurer

Chillicothe

Brenda Scheiderer

Secretary

Mount Vernon

Richard Brooks

Attorney Board Member

Columbus

Phil Brown

Attorney Board Member

Columbus

Carolyn J. Carnes

Attorney Board Member

Newark

Mary Keifer

Attorney Board Member

Athens

Richard D. Manoloff

Attorney Board Member

Cleveland

Jonathan W. Marshall

Attorney Board Member

Columbus

Becky Gray

Client Board Member

New Philadelphia

Kim Brashear

Client Board Member

Marietta

Linda Lewandowski

Client Board Member

McArthur

Sandy Morehead

Client Board Member

St. Clairsville

Kathy Mowry

Attorney Board Member

Columbus

Richard C. Pfeiffer Jr.

Attorney Board Member

Columbus

Mary Partree

Client Board Member

Cincinnati

Hon. John M. Solovan II

Attorney Board Member

Cincinnati

John Stevenson

Attorney Board Member

Columbus

Phyllis Violet

Client Board Member

Chillicothe

Linda Weber

Attorney Board Member

Columbus

*Attorney board members are nominated by their local bar associations but are appointed by the OSBA. The client board members are identified and recruited from their local communities.

Contact OSBA


Headquarters:

1700 Lake Shore Drive
Columbus, Ohio 43204

Phone:

(800) 282-6556


Email:

OSBA@Ohiobar.org

Connect with OSBA


Attorney Member Directory Search