Ohio State Bar Association Affiliates

​​​​

The Ohio State Bar Association has several affiliates working to provide services and assistance to the many lawyers, judges, paralegals, teachers and law school students throughout Ohio. The OSBA either founded or helped found all of the affiliates. Some are for-profit and some are nonprofit. Each affiliate has its own board or other entity in charge in which the OSBA has input into the makeup. Information regarding each organization is included below.


OSBA affiliates (with links to their respective websites) include the:

Law and Lead​​​ership Institute (LLI)

The Law and Leadership Institute, LLC (LLI) is a statewide initiative in collaboration with the legal community that inspires and prepares students from underserved communities for post-secondary and professional success through a comprehensive four-year academic program in law, leadership, analytical thinking, problem solving, writing skills and professionalism. LLI successfully obtained status as a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt non-profit organization in 2010. It is governed by a board of directors of seventeen members consisting of representatives of the Ohio legal community that includes one designee of the OSBA, one designee of the Ohio Center for Law-Related Education, one designee of the Supreme Court of Ohio and one designee of the Consortium of Metropolitan Bar Associations.


Address
1700 Lake Shore Drive
Columbus, Ohio  43204


LLI Staff

Name ​Title ​Email ​Phone

​Steve Jemison

CEO sjemison@lawandleadership.org​(614) 485-3504

​Heather Creed

​COOhcreed@lawandleadership.org (614) 485-3504

​Rachel Wilson

​Program Director

rwilson@lawandleadership.org(614) 485-3504
 

LLI Board of Directors
 
Name Title/Organization

​Steve Jemison, Esq.

​President and CEO, Law and Leadership Institute, LLC

​Stuart F. Cubbon

​Treasurer, Law and Leadership Institute, LLC
Partner and President, Cubbon & Associates

​​Lisa L. Eschleman

​Secretary, Law and Leadership Institute, LLC
Executive Director, Ohio Center for Law-Related Education

​Howard Bell

​Executive Director of Pre-Law Programs
Kaplan Test Prep and Admissions

Pariss M. Coleman II

​Partner, Cooper and Kowalski, LPA

​Paul N. Harris

​Executive Vice President, Secretary and General Counsel
KeyCorp

Melissa Kendralla

​Educator, South-Western City School District

​Hugh McKay, Esq.

​Partner-in-Charge of the Porter, Wright, Morris & Arthur Cleveland Office
Porter, Wright, Morris & Arthur

​Alan Michaels

​Dean and Edwin M. Cooperman Professor of Law
The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law

​Michael L. Robinson, Esq.

​Attorney at Law

​Nancy H. Rogers

​Professor Emeritus of Law
The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law

​Honorable Jeffrey S. Sutton

​U.S. Court of Appeals Sixth Circuit

​Carl Smallwood, Esq.

​Partner, Vorys Columbus Office
Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease, LLP

 


Ohio Bar Lia​​bility Insurance Company (OBLIC)

Founded by the OSBA in 1979, the Ohio Bar Liability Insurance Company was one of the first companies in the country formed solely to provide professional liability insurance to lawyers and has been a positive force in the competitive marketplace ever since. The organization keeps the malpractice needs of Ohio attorneys as its top concern, devising plans for part-time and employed lawyers, providing a claims-free discount for those individuals who have been without a malpractice claim. It has provided, and will continue to provide, insurance availability at a reasonable price.

Address
1650 Lake Shore Drive
P.O. Box 2708
Columbus, Ohio 43216-2708
(614) 488-7924


NameTitleEmail
Steve CouchPresident and CEOscouch@oblic.com
Frederick HunkerVice President of Claims, Attorneyfhunker@oblic.com
Rodney McGoughDirector of Finance and Accountingrmcgough@oblic.com
Antionette M. GoffDirector of Information Technologyagoff@oblic.com
Gretchen Koehler MoteDirector of Loss Prevention, Attorneygmote@oblic.com
Kelley BlessingAdministrative Assistantkblessing@oblic.com
Angela E. PoeUnderwriting Managerapoe@oblic.com
Linda L. ShawUnderwriterlshaw@oblic.com
Rachel RitchieNew Business Underwriterrritchie@oblic.com
Megan WilsonUnderwriting Assistantmwilson@oblic.com
Jamie RoushUnderwriting Assistantjroush@oblic.com
Christine ThrallAccounting Techniciancthrall@oblic.com
Kelly MercyFinance and Accounting Assistantkmercy@oblic.com
Carl MarshClaims Counsel, Attorneycmarsh@oblic.com

OBLIC Board of Directors

​Name​Title​Location
John S. StithChairCincinnati
Steve CouchPresidentColumbus
Paula L. BrooksMemberColumbus
Pariss M. Coleman IIMemberToledo
​E. Ann Gabriel
​Member​Athens
​John Holschuh​Member​Cincinnati
Barbara J. HowardMemberCincinnati
James R. JefferyMemberToledo
Thomas D. LammersVice-ChairCelina
Doloris F. LearmonthMemberCincinnati
Jordan A. Miller Jr.TreasurerColumbus
Frederick L. OremusMemberAthens
​Denny L. Ramey
​Member
​Columbus
Heather G. SowaldMemberColumbus
Thomas M. TaggartMemberColumbus
Robin G. WeaverMemberCleveland
​Linde Hurst Webb​Member​Sylvania
James M. WilesMemberColumbus

Ohio Center for Law-Related ​Education (OCLRE)

The Ohio Center for Law-Related Education is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that partners with teachers to bring citizenship to life for students. Its core purpose is to improve society by developing citizens empowered with an understanding of our democratic system. Some of the programs offered to engage students from grades 4-12 include Project Citizen, Youth for Justice, We the People, Moot Court and Mock Trial for both high school and middle school. OCLRE also offers conferences, such as the Law and Citizenship conference and the Ohio Government in Action conference. Both allow teachers to acquire innovative teaching strategies regarding civic education, government and the law. OCLRE is sponsored by the Supreme Court of Ohio, the Attorney General of Ohio, the Ohio State Bar Association and the ACLU of Ohio Foundation.


Address

1700 Lake Shore Drive
Columbus, Ohio 43204
(877) 485-3510


Name Title Email
Kate Strickland
Executive Director kstrickland@oclre.org
Ryan SuskeyDirector of Professional Development and Programsrsuskey@oclre.org
Tim Kalgreen, M. Ed.Program Coordinator tkalgreen@oclre.org
​Caitlyn Smith
​Program Coordinator for Mock Trial/Moot Court programs
csmith@oclre.org
Cathy Genest GodfreyDatabase Coordinator cgodfrey@oclre.org
Allison Smith
Administrative Assistant
​asmith@oclre.org


OCLRE Board of Trustees

Marion Smithberger, President, Columbus
Thomas E. Friedman, Secretary, Columbus
Pierce J. Reed, Treasurer, Columbus
Lee Belardo, Avon
Pam Vest Boratyn, Columbus
Gary Daniels, Columbus
Richard A. Dove, Columbus
Daniel G. Hilson, Columbus
William M. Owens, Coshocton


Ohio Lawy​ers Assistance Program (OLAP)

The Ohio Lawyers Assistance Program is a nonprofit organization dedicated to helping Ohio's judges, attorneys and law students obtain treatment for substance abuse, chemical dependency, addiction and mental health issues. Through OLAP, individuals receive confidential advice about such problems; help in arranging and implementing formal interventions; help in deciding between outpatient, inpatient and other treatment options; and monitoring and aftercare services. OLAP receives funding and other assistance from the Supreme Court of Ohio; the Ohio State Bar Association; the Ohio Bar Liability Insurance Company; and local bar associations around Ohio.

Address
1650 Lake Shore Drive
Suite 375
Columbus, OH 43204-4991

Name Title Email

Phone

Scott R. Mote

Executive Director

smote@ohiolap.org

(800) 348-4343

Stephanie S. Krznarich

Clinical Director

skrznarich@ohiolap.org

(800) 348-4343

Megan R. Snyder

Clinical Associate

msnyder@ohiolap.org

(800) 348-4343

Paul A. Caimi

Associate Director

pcaimi@ohiolap.org

(800) 618-8606

Patrick J. Garry

Associate Director

pgarry@ohiolap.org

(513) 623-9853

 

 


Ohio State Bar Association Insu​​rance Agency (OSBAIA)

OSBA Insurance Agency was created in 1993 to provide insurance to members of the Ohio State Bar Association and has recently began representing the Ohio Bar Liability Insurance Company to provide its products to OSBA members as well. OSBAIA works with lawyers, paralegals and law school students to develop plans based on individual needs. OSBAIA provides many different types of coverage and works with a number of insurance providers to get the best products and rates for you. The OSBAIA provides the opportunity to achieve better pricing and features for some products that would be unobtainable otherwise.

Address
1650 Lake Shore Drive
Columbus, Ohio 43204
Contact (855) 745-9222 to speak to a live agent or email us at insurance@osbainsuranceagency.com.


Name Title Email Phone
​Steve Couch​Director of Insurance Agency
scouch@oblic.com​(614) 488-7924
Danna Blackburn Sales Executive dblackburn@osbainsuranceagency.com (614) 572-0616
Tammy ThorntonSenior Sales Executive tthornton@osbainsuranceagency.com (614) 572-0616


OSBAIA Board of Directors

​Name
​Title
​Location
Alan BerlinerChairColumbus
Jack Stith
​Board Member
Cincinnati
Steve Couch
​Board MemberColumbus
​Barbara F. Yaksic​Board MemberCleveland
​Chad Burton
​Board Member
​Dayton

 

Ohio State Bar Foundation (OSBF)

The Ohio State Bar Foundation was formed by the OSBA in 1951 as the charitable arm of the Ohio State Bar Association. The OSBF takes pride in offering Ohio lawyers an opportunity to renew their zeal for the law through expertise and giving. OSBF is a 501(c)(3) charitable organization whose members include attorneys and judges and it is dedicated to the mission of promoting public understanding of the law and improvements in the justice system throughout Ohio. The OSBF awards grants to organizations that embody its mission and recognizing those who have excelled in their professional achievements. The OSBF Fellows Class members single out a legal issue each year, and apply their collective expertise to find a solution. The Foundation enhances pride in the legal profession and increases public confidence in lawyers.

Join its cause.


Address
1700 Lake Shore Drive
Columbus, Ohio  43204


 Name TitleEmail Phone
Alison M. Belfrage Executive Director abelfrage@osbf.net (614) 487-4443
​Tammy Savage
​Director of Donor Relations
tsavage@osbf.net​(614) 487-4477
Kristin Eckert
Program and Events Manager keckert@osbf.net (614) 487-4474
Staci M. Waterman Operations Manager swaterman@osbf.net (614) 487-4444
​Kate Clements​Grants and Communications Coordinator
kclements@osbf.net​(614) 487-4450


OSBF Board of Trustees

 


Ohio State Legal Services Associati​on (OSLSA)

OSLSA is a nonprofit legal services program, founded in 1966 by the Ohio State Bar Association, which provides assistance and representation to low-income Ohioans on civil legal issues. OSLSA has two direct service components (Southeastern Ohio Legal Services and the Legal Aid Society of Columbus) and an advocacy and support affiliate (the Ohio Poverty Law Center). Its administrative offices, the main office of the Legal Aid Society of Columbus, and the Ohio Poverty Law Center are located in Columbus. Seven direct service offices serve 35 counties in central and southeastern Ohio. OSLSA receives grants from the Ohio Legal Assistance Foundation and the Legal Services Corporation. It is OSLSA's goal to act as general counsel to the client community and it is committed to searching out the patterns, causes, and solutions of the recurring and fundamental legal problems facing the client community, and seeking legal recourse necessary to redress the grievances of clients, both as a community and as individuals.


Address
555 Buttles Avenue
Columbus, Ohio 43215
(800) 589-5888 or (614) 221-7201


Name
Title Email

Extension

Thomas W. Weeks

Executive Director

tweeks@oslsa.org

ext. 112

James Daniels

Deputy Director SEOLS

jdaniels@oslsa.org

ext. 109

Eugene R. King

Managing Attorney State Support

gking@oslsa.org

ext. 125


OSLSA Board of Trustees*


Name

Title

Location

Helen M. Hrinko

President

Chandlersville

William Taylor

Vice President

Columbus

Rita Fuchsman

Treasurer

Chillicothe

Brenda Scheiderer

Secretary

Mount Vernon

Richard Brooks

Attorney Board Member

Columbus

Phil Brown

Attorney Board Member

Columbus

Carolyn J. Carnes

Attorney Board Member

Newark

Mary Keifer

Attorney Board Member

Athens

Richard D. Manoloff

Attorney Board Member

Cleveland

Jonathan W. Marshall

Attorney Board Member

Columbus

Becky Gray

Client Board Member

New Philadelphia

Kim Brashear

Client Board Member

Marietta

Linda Lewandowski

Client Board Member

McArthur

Sandy Morehead

Client Board Member

St. Clairsville

Kathy Mowry

Attorney Board Member

Columbus

Richard C. Pfeiffer Jr.

Attorney Board Member

Columbus

Mary Partree

Client Board Member

Cincinnati

Hon. John M. Solovan II

Attorney Board Member

Cincinnati

John Stevenson

Attorney Board Member

Columbus

Phyllis Violet

Client Board Member

Chillicothe

Linda Weber

Attorney Board Member

Columbus

*Attorney board members are nominated by their local bar associations but are appointed by the OSBA. The client board members are identified and recruited from their local communities.

Phone

1-800-282-6556

Staff Directory

Contact Information

Hours

8 A.M. - 5 P.M.
Monday - Friday