Sexual Harassment Policy

The U.S. Supreme Court decisions regarding sexual harassment have made it essential for law offices and other businesses to have in place a written policy statement defining and prohibiting workplace sexual harassment and a clear set of procedures for reporting and responding to harassment complaints.

A special OSBA Task Force on Sexual Harassment has developed a sample policy statement and a set of model procedures suitable for Ohio law firms to review and adopt for their own internal use and customize and make available to their business clients who don’t already have such documents in place.

The nine-page policy and procedure guide, “Preventing Sexual Harassment in the Legal Workplace,” is available free of charge to OSBA m​embers on the OSBA Web site.

The 10-member Task Force on Sexual Harassment, created in 1996, was co-chaired by former OSBA President Ray R. Michalski of Lancaster and former Women in the Profession Chair Barbara J. Howard of Cincinnati. William R. Neale of Columbus, a task-force member, played a key role in drafting the guidelines. Other members were:

Deborah Adams, Cincinnati

Randolph H. Freking, Cincinnati

Hon. June R. Galvin, Toledo

Diane L. Gentile, Dayton

Robin E. Harvey, Cincinnati

J. Jeffrey Heck, Mansfield

Margaret J. Lockhart, Toledo

Carl F. Muller, Ashtabula

Laura Hauser Pfahl, Columbus

Portions of “Preventing Sexual Harassment in the Legal Workplace” were based on a similar document published by the Maryland State Bar Association.

View the Sample Policy



Staff Directory

Contact Information


8 A.M. - 5 P.M.
Monday - Friday