Area lawyers appointed to chair OSBA committees

CONTACT: Kenneth A. Brown, OSBA, 800-282-6556 or 614-487-4426

Columbus, OHIO (Sept. 16, 2013) – Ohio State Bar Association (OSBA) President Jonathan Hollingsworth has appointed three area lawyers to be chairpersons of OSBA committees and sections for 2013-2014. The OSBA maintains 31 standing committees and 11 sections, each of which monitors a particular area of law. Committees and sections work to improve the justice system by keeping Ohio lawyers informed about the latest court decisions and regulatory changes. In addition, they comment on bills before the Ohio General Assembly and draft their own legislative proposals to improve existing laws.

Susan E. Baker has been appointed to chair the Workers’ Compensation Law Committee. Certified as a specialist in workers’ compensation law by the OSBA, she works in the Medina office of Critchfield, Critchfield & Johnston, Ltd and is a member of the National College of Workers’ Compensation Lawyers. She earned her undergraduate degree from Ashland University in 1988 and her law degree from Case Western Reserve University Law School in 1992. In the community, she currently serves on the Summa Health Systems SW Region Board of Trustees, and is a past chair and current member of the Wayne County Economic Development Council. She is married and has two grown children.

David J. Wigham has been appointed to chair the Natural Resources Law Committee. A member of the Wooster law firm of Critchfield, Critchfield & Johnston, Ltd. since 1992, he has concentrated his practice in the area of oil and gas law for the past 20 years. Wigham earned his bachelor’s degree in Economics from the College of Wooster and his law degree from Cleveland-Marshall College of Law, where he served as editor of the Cleveland State Law Review. He is a member of the OSBA, the Wayne County Bar Association and the American Bar Association. In the community, Wigham has served on the boards of Junior Achievement of Wayne County and the Secrest Arboretum, as well as on several private corporate boards. He is also a former solicitor for the Village of Apple Creek and has coached youth basketball and baseball. He and his wife, Becky, have two children: Andrew and Allison.

David A. Zagore has been appointed to chair the Corporation Law Committee. An Avon resident and a partner in the Cleveland office of Squire Sanders, he concentrates his practice on the business representation of public and private companies. He also regularly advises boards of directors and management personnel about mergers and acquisitions, fiduciary and securities law matters, corporate contests and corporate governance. The Best Lawyers in America® has listed Zagore since 2003, and recently named him Cleveland Mergers & Acquisitions Law Lawyer of the Year for 2013. He has also been listed in Chambers USA: America’s Leading Business Lawyers and in Lawdragon’s Leading Lawyer. Law & Politics magazine also has recognized him as an Ohio Super Lawyer. A frequent speaker on corporate, fiduciary and securities law matters, he is an active member of both the American Bar Association and the Ohio State Bar Association. He has chaired numerous drafting committees for Ohio corporate and securities legislation, including Ohio’s director liability and indemnification statutes. He earned both his bachelor’s degree and his law degree from the Ohio State University.

The Ohio State Bar Association, founded in 1880, is a voluntary association representing approximately 25,000 members of the bench and bar of Ohio as well as nearly 4,000 legal assistants and law students. Through its activities and the activities of its related organizations, the OSBA serves both its members and the public by promoting the highest standards in the practice of law and the administration of justice.



Staff Directory

Contact Information


8 A.M. - 5 P.M.
Monday - Friday