Columbus area lawyers to be honored for their service

CONTACT: Kenneth A. Brown – 800-282-6556 or 614-487-4426

COLUMBUS (April 1, 2013) - The president of the Ohio State Bar Association (OSBA) will visit Columbus on Monday, April 15 to speak to area attorneys about current issues facing the legal profession and to honor local lawyers for their service. 

Judge Patrick F. Fischer, 2012- 2013 OSBA president, will address the annual meeting of OSBA District 7 at the Hilton Columbus Downtown (401 North High St.). OSBA District 7 includes 4,987 members who practice in Franklin County.

Attorneys being honored for 50 years in practice include Columbus residents Langdon D. Bell, David L. Hobson, Robert J. Holland, Elden J. Hopple, Jerry D. Jordan, Russell E. Lamm, J. Richard Lumpe, Prof. James E. Meeks and Hilliard resident S. Michael Miller. In addition, Laura M. Jurcevich of Columbus will be presented with the Ohio State Bar Foundation Community Service Award for Attorneys 40 and Under.

Belinda S. Barnes, District 7 representative of the OSBA Board of Governors, will preside over the noon luncheon meeting, and Bradley B. Wrightsel, president of the Columbus Bar Association, will deliver welcoming remarks.

Prior to the noon luncheon meeting and recognition, an optional 2.5–hour continuing legal education (CLE) seminar will be offered from 9:00 to 11:30 a.m. Registration and continental breakfast will begin at 8:30 a.m. Advance seminar/breakfast registration for OSBA members is $105 and $130 for non members. Seminar-only registration is $70 for members and $85 for non-members; lunch-only registration is $35 for members and $45 for non-members. After April 8, $25 will be added to the total registration fee.

The Ohio State Bar Association, founded in 1880, is a voluntary association representing approximately 25,000 members of the bench and bar of Ohio as well as nearly 4,000 legal assistants and law students.  Through its activities and the activities of its related organizations, the OSBA serves both its members and the public by promoting the highest standards in the practice of law and the administration of justice.


EDITORS/NEWS DIRECTORS PLEASE NOTE:  Media personnel are welcome to attend and cover this meeting of state bar leaders and local attorneys and judges. OSBA President Fischer’s remarks begin at 12:35 p.m., and he will be available for one-on-one interviews. To confirm exact times or to make special interview/talk show arrangements, please call OSBA public relations director Kenneth Brown at 800-282-6556 or 614-487-4426.

Zip codes of honorees (residential unless otherwise indicated)
50-Year Practitioners:

Langdon D. Bell – Columbus 43221

David L. Hobson – Columbus 43215 (business)

Robert J. Holland – Columbus 43220

Elden J. Hopple – Columbus 43212

Jerry D. Jordan – Columbus 43235

Russell E. Lamm – Columbus 43212

J. Richard Lumpe – Columbus 43204

Prof. James E. Meeks – Columbus 43221

S. Michael Miller – Hilliard 43026

OSBF Community Service Award Winner:
Laura M. Jurcevich – Columbus 43221



Staff Directory

Contact Information


8 A.M. - 5 P.M.
Monday - Friday