Media Advisory: 2014 OSBA Convention highlights

WHAT: 134th Annual Convention of the Ohio State Bar Association (OSBA)

WHEN: Wednesday, April 30 through Friday, May 2, 2014

WHERE: Hyatt Regency Columbus, 350 N. High St., Columbus, OH 43215

CONTACT: OSBA Public and Media Relations Director Ken Brown at (800) 282-6556, (614) 487-4426 (direct dial), or (614) 746-2457 (cellular)

CONVENTION THEME: “OSBA Honors Our Military Veterans for Service to Our Country”

WEBSITE: Visit for complete program; click on for all news releases.

CONVENTION HIGHLIGHTS:  The OSBA Annual Convention is the largest and most important yearly gathering, attended by 900+ lawyers and judges from across Ohio. Highlights include:
(Note that room assignments are subject to change. Please confirm at registration desk.)

  • Address by former POW Jessica Lynch
    (Thursday, May 1, 8:00 a.m., Hyatt Regency Ballroom)
  • Address by Supreme Court of Ohio Chief Justice Maureen O’Connor
    (Thursday, May 1, noon, Hyatt Regency Ballroom)
  • State of the Bar Address by OSBA President Jonathan Hollingsworth
    (Wednesday, April 30, 1:30 p.m., Hyatt Franklin ABCD)
  • Award presentations to distinguished members:
Columbus Attorney and former Ohio Supreme Court Justice Evelyn Lundberg Stratton will receive THE OHIO BAR MEDAL AWARD, the OSBA’s highest honor presented to a member who exemplifies unusually meritorious service to the legal profession, to the community and to humanity.   
(Thursday, May 1, 12:00 p.m., Hyatt Regency Ballroom)

Columbus Attorney Beatrice Sowald will receive THE NETTIE CRONISE LUTES AWARD recognizing women lawyers who have improved the legal profession through their own high level of professionalism and who have opened doors for other women. It also commemorates the first woman to practice law in Ohio.
(Wednesday, April 30, 1:30 p.m., Hyatt Franklin ABCD)

State Representative Gerald Stebelton of Lancaster will receive the inaugural 2014 OSBA LAWYER-LEGISLATOR DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD, established this year to recognize Ohio lawyers who also provide exceptional service as Ohio legislators.
(Wednesday, April 30, 1:30 p.m., Hyatt Franklin ABCD)

Cincinnati attorney George D. Jonson will receive the 2014 EUGENE R. WEIR AWARD FOR ETHICS AND PROFESSIONALISM which recognizes exceptional professional responsibility among Ohio lawyers.
(Wednesday, April 30, 1:30 p.m., Hyatt Franklin ABCD)
THE OHIO LEGAL ASSISTANCE FOUNDATION PRO BONO AWARD recognizes outstanding pro bono service will be presented to the Law Department of GE Aviation (Cincinnati), accepted by Michael R. McAlevey, General Counsel and Leader of Business Development for GE Aviation.
(Wednesday, April 30, 1:30 p.m., Hyatt Franklin ABCD)

THE JOHN C. AND GINNY ELAM PRO BONO AWARD recognizes and encourages exceptional pro bono legal work in the state of Ohio. This year’s recipient is Kermit Lowery of Dayton. Presented by Chief Justice Maureen O’Connor.
(Thursday, May 1, 12:00 p.m., Hyatt Regency Ballroom)

  • Full complement of continuing legal education courses (visit and click on “CLE seminar info” for complete list).  Special military-themed CLEs include:
        “Protecting a Servicemember’s Civilian Life while Deployed”
        Thursday, May 1; 1:30 p.m.; Hyatt Union D

        “Stand Between a Military Veteran and Homelessness”
        Thursday, May 1; 3:30 p.m.; Hyatt Union D

        “Divorce, Military Style”
        Thursday, May 1; 5:30 p.m.; Hyatt Franklin ABC

        “USERRA – Re-employment Rights of the Military”
        Friday, May 2; 7 a.m.; Hyatt Union AB

1:30-4:45 p.m. Council of Delegates & General Assembly
(Hyatt Franklin ABCD

Awards Presentations:
  • Eugene Weir Award for Ethics and Professionalism
  • Nettie Cronise Lutes Award
  • Ohio Legal Assistance Foundation Pro Bono Award 
  • 2014 Lawyer-Legislator Distinguished Service Award
Council of Delegates Meeting/General Assembly 
Panel Discussion – Chairs and ranking minoritymembers of Ohio House and Senate Judiciary Committees on issues of concern to the profession and the justice system. 
  • Jim Butler (R-Oakwood), chair, House Judiciary Committee;
  • Michael Stinziano (D-Columbus), ranking minority member of the House Judiciary Committee;
  • Bill Coley (R-Liberty Township), chair, Senate Judiciary Civil Justice Committee;
  • Michael Skindell (D-Lakewood), ranking minority member of the Senate Judiciary Civil Justice Committee     

8:00 – 8:45 a.m. Convention Welcome and Opening Plenary Session: “OSBA Honors Our Military Veterans for Service to Our Country”
(Hyatt Regency Ballroom)
  • Welcome: Convention Chair – Columbus Bar Association President Mark C. Petrucci 
  • Plenary Speaker: Jessica D. Lynch
11:45 a.m. – 1:15 p.m. OSBA Annual Luncheon
(Hyatt Regency Ballroom)
  • Address by Chief Justice O’Connor, Supreme Court of Ohio 
  • Passing of the Gavel from President Jonathan Hollingsworth to President-Elect Martin E. Mohler
  • Presentation of the Bar Medal to Evelyn Lundberg Stratton  
  • Presentation of the John C. and Ginny Elam Pro Bono Award
FRIDAY, MAY 2, 2014

12:40 p.m.  Announcement of President-Elect Election Results
Convention Center Battelle North
The Ohio State Bar Association, founded in 1880, is a voluntary association representing approximately 25,000 members of the bench and bar of Ohio as well as nearly 4,000 legal assistants and law students.  Through its activities and the activities of its related organizations, the OSBA serves both its members and the public by promoting the highest standards in the practice of law and the administration of justice.



Staff Directory

Contact Information


8 A.M. - 5 P.M.
Monday - Friday