OSBA Supreme Court of Ohio Candidate Ratings for the 2012 Election

CONTACT: Barbara J. Howard, Commission Chair (513) 421-7300
COLUMBUS (Sept. 27, 2012) – The Ohio State Bar Association’s (OSBA) Commission on Judicial Candidates completed its evaluation of candidates seeking election this year to the Supreme Court of Ohio, and has released the following ratings:
Candidate                                                     Rating
Justice Yvette McGee Brown                          Highly Recommended
Justice Robert R. Cupp                                  Highly Recommended 
Justice Terrence O’Donnell                            Recommended
William O’Neill                                                 Recommended
Michael J. Skindell                                          Recommended
Judge Sharon Kennedy                                  Not Recommended
The 25-member panel, chaired by OSBA Past-President Barbara J. Howard, evaluated each of this year’s candidates according to eight non-political criteria: legal knowledge and ability; professional competence; judicial temperament; integrity; diligence; health; personal responsibility; and public/community service.
According to Howard, the OSBA evaluation process rates each candidate individually according to the Commission’s eight criteria. The individual rating process makes it possible for two or more candidates to receive the same rating.
Candidates who receive favorable evaluations from less than 60 percent of the Commission members are rated “Not Recommended.” This candidate’s qualifications are not suited to perform the duties and responsibilities of chief justice or justice of the Supreme Court of Ohio. 
A vote of the Commission members of at least 60 percent is required for a candidate to receive the OSBA’s “Recommended” rating. This candidate would be able to perform satisfactorily as the chief justice or justice of the Supreme Court of Ohio. 
The rating of “Highly Recommended” is awarded to any candidate receiving favorable votes from at least 70 percent of the Commission members. This candidate possesses a high combination of legal knowledge and ability, professional competence, judicial temperament, integrity, diligence, personal responsibility and demonstrated public and community service, and would be capable of outstanding performance as the chief justice or justice of the Supreme Court of Ohio. 
The Commission reviewed references and materials submitted by the candidates and conducted personal inquiries among lawyers, judges and other sources. The Commission interviewed the candidates in person and determined its ratings by secret ballot.
Howard said the Commission was composed of herself as chair and one representative from each of the OSBA’s 18 geographic districts. Additionally, six at-large members who reflect the diversity of the organization’s 25,000 lawyer members serve as appointees of the OSBA president and Board of Governors.
Members of the 2012 OSBA Commission on Judicial Candidates are:  Barbara J. Howard, (chair, Cincinnati); John S. Stith (Cincinnati); Andrew C. Storar (Dayton); David C. Newcomer (Bryan); Martin E. Mohler (Toledo);  Stephen F. Tilson (Galion);  Mark F. Roberts (Springfield);  David C. Patterson (Columbus); Daniel P. Ruggiero (Portsmouth); William J. Taylor (Zanesville); Joseph E. Cirigliano (Avon); Terrence J. Steel (Cleveland); Robert F. Ware (Cleveland); James E. Roberts (Youngstown); Mark A. Thomas (St. Clairsville); John C. Childers (Carrollton), Kraig E. Noble (St. Marys); William W. Henderson (Logan); David A. McGee (Chardon); Jonathan Hollingsworth (Dayton); Ben E. Espy (Columbus); Ronald V. Johnson (Cleveland); Louise Jackson (Toledo); Kathleen A. Stoneman (Carrollton); and Deborah Akers-Parry (Cleveland).
The Ohio State Bar Association, founded in 1880, is a voluntary association representing approximately 25,000 members of the bench and bar of Ohio as well as nearly 4,000 legal assistants and law students. Through its activities and the activities of its related organizations, the OSBA serves both its members and the public by promoting the highest standards in the practice of law and the administration of justice.



Staff Directory

Contact Information


8 A.M. - 5 P.M.
Monday - Friday