OSBA president to honor Cleveland-area lawyers

CONTACT: Kenneth A. Brown – 800-282-6556 or 614-487-4426

COLUMBUS (March 26, 2013) - The president of the Ohio State Bar Association (OSBA) will visit Cleveland on Tuesday April 9, to speak to area attorneys about current issues facing the legal profession and to honor senior attorneys.

Judge Patrick F. Fischer, 2012-2013 OSBA president, will address the annual luncheon meeting of OSBA District 12 at the Ritz-Carlton Cleveland (1515 West Third Street). OSBA District 12 includes 4,953 members who practice in Cuyahoga County. 

Mark. S. Floyd, District 12 representative on the OSBA Board of Governors, will preside over the meeting, and Carter E. Strange, Cleveland Metropolitan Bar Association president, will deliver welcoming remarks.

Area residents being recognized for 50 years in the practice of law include Carole Ann DeRose (S. Euclid), S. Stuart Eilers (Cleveland), Richard D. Eisenberg (Cleveland), Alvin I. Gilmore (Chagrin Falls), Barry D. Goloboff (Beachwood), Ronald J. Harpst (Middleburg Hts.), Donald E. Heiser (Pepper Pike), John F. Herrick (Cleveland), Edward G. Kagels (Parma), Lynn W. Leary (Middleburg Hts.), John D. Liber (Cleveland), Paul A. Mancino (S. Euclid), Martin J. Murphy (Cleveland and Vero Beach, FL), C. Daniel Nash (Berea), William A. Papenbrock (Novelty), Gerald M. Porter (Broadview Hts.), Lee D. Power (Moreland Hills), Thomas J. Scanlon (Westlake), Oliver E. Seikel (Cleveland), Lawrence C. Sherman (Pepper Pike) and Roger A. Wadsworth (Brecksville).

Attorneys being recognized for 65 years in the practice of law include Jordan C. Band of Beachwood, Thomas A. Quintrell of Gates Mills, Seth C. Taft of Cleveland and Ebert Weidner of Chagrin Falls. Also, Matthew D. Besser of Cleveland will be presented with the Ohio State Bar Foundation Community Service Award for Attorneys 40 and Under.

Prior to the noon luncheon meeting and recognition, an optional 2.5-hour continuing legal education (CLE) seminar will be offered from 9:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. Registration and continental breakfast will begin at 8:30 a.m. Advance seminar/lunch registration is $105 for OSBA members and $130 for non-members; seminar-only registration is $70 for members and $85 for non-members; lunch-only registration is $35 for members and $45 for non-members. After Apr. 2, $25 will be added to the total registration fee.

The Ohio State Bar Association, founded in 1880, is a voluntary association representing approximately 25,000 members of the bench and bar of Ohio as well as nearly 4,000 legal assistants and law students.  Through its activities and the activities of its related organizations, the OSBA serves both its members and the public by promoting the highest standards in the practice of law and the administration of justice.


EDITORS/NEWS DIRECTORS PLEASE NOTE:  Media personnel are welcome to attend and cover this meeting of state bar leaders and local attorneys and judges. OSBA President Fischer’s remarks begin at 12:35 p.m., and he will be available for one-on-one interviews. To confirm exact times or to make special interview/talk show arrangements, please call OSBA public relations director Kenneth Brown at 800-282-6556 or 614-487-4426, or 614-746-2457 (mobile).

Zip codes of honorees (residential unless otherwise indicated)
50-Year Practitioners:

Carole Ann DeRose – South Euclid 44121

S. Stuart Eilers – Cleveland 44114 (business)

Richard D. Eisenberg – Cleveland 44124 (business)

Alvin I. Gilmore – Chagrin Falls 44022

Barry D. Goloboff – Beachwood 44122

Ronald J. Harpst – Middleburg Heights 44130

John D. Liber – Naples, FL and Cleveland (former business) 44114

Paul A. Mancino – South Euclid 44121

Martin J. Murphy – Cleveland (business) 44114; Vero Beach, FL (res.)

C. Daniel Nash – Berea 44017

William A. Papenbrock – Novelty 44072 (Cleveland 44114-business)

Gerald M. Porter – Broadview Heights 44147 (business)

Lee D. Power – Moreland Hills 44022

Thomas J. Scanlon – Westlake 44145

Oliver E. Seikel – Cleveland 44106

Lawrence C. Sherman – Pepper Pike 44124

Roger A. Wadsworth – Brecksville 44141

65 Year Practitioners:

Jordan C. Band – Beachwood 44122

Thomas A. Quintrell – Gates Mills 44040

Seth C. Taft – Cleveland   44124

Ebert Weidner – Chagrin Falls 44022


OSBF Community Service Award:

Matthew D. Besser – Cleveland 44121



Staff Directory

Contact Information


8 A.M. - 5 P.M.
Monday - Friday