Ohio State Bar Association honors Wooster area attorneys for longtime service



CONTACT: Annie Yamson

(614) 487-4456 


Columbus, Ohio (March 29, 2018) – As part of the District 10 annual meeting on March 28, 2018 the Ohio State Bar Association (OSBA) recognized four area attorneys for 50 years of service to the legal profession.


About the honorees:


Harold Hunter Davis of Mansfield earned his law degree at The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law and has practiced law in Ohio since 1968. He specializes in estate-planning matters and maintains a solo practice in Mansfield. He has served on the Estate Planning and Trust and Probate Law Section Council of the OSBA for the past 30 years and formerly served as President of the Richland County Bar Association. *Download Photo


John Stanley Haynes of Elyria graduated from The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law in 1968 and was admitted to the bar the same year. He has specialized in Criminal and Family Law, defending high-profile criminal clients in Lorain County for decades, including trials in Appellate Court and the Ohio Supreme Court. He has also represented the ACLU in federal court proceedings and represented residents of Lorain County on the Committee to build a new Lorain County Jail. *Download Photo


Terry Smith Shilling of Elyria earned his law degree at The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law and was admitted to the Ohio Bar in 1968. He served the City of Elyria as Law Director from 1980 to 2011 as well as on the Charter Review Commission. In the private sector, he maintains a practice in Elyria specializing in Business Law, Estate Planning, Administrative Law, Real Estate Law, and Tax Law. He has also served as President of the Elyria Rotary Club and on the Murray Ridge Housing Corporation Board of Directors. *Download Photo

John W. Kropf of Orrville earned his law degree at The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law in 1968 and served in the US Army for 2 years before joining the Orrville firm his father founded, Kropf Wagner. In addition to his lengthy private practice career, he has served as Chair of the Board of Baldwin-Wallace College, Chairman of First National Bank, City Law Director for the City of Orrville, and President of The Village Network, Inc and has served as a trustee for Every Woman's House. For his community service, he was awarded the Paul L. Powell Citizen of the Year Award. *Download Photo

During the meeting, which was held at the Shisler Conference Center OSU, Robert Reynolds, Gowri Hampole and Patricia Walker were all re-elected to serve on the OSBA Council of Delegates for two-year terms commencing July 1, 2018.


About the Ohio State Bar Association

The Ohio State Bar Association, founded in 1880, is a voluntary association representing approximately 28,000 members of the bench and bar of Ohio. Through its activities and the activities of its related organizations, the OSBA serves both its members and the public by promoting the highest standards in the practice of law and the administration of justice.


OSBA District 10 includes more than 900 attorneys who practice in Ashland, Erie, Holmes, Huron, Lorain, Medina, Richland and Wayne counties.


*Honorees are pictured with OSBA President Randall Comer. 




Staff Directory

Contact Information


8 A.M. - 5 P.M.
Monday - Friday