2014 OSBA Convention award winners

OSBA honors Columbus attorney with Women Lawyers' Award

Beatrice K. Sowald of Columbus has been selected as the 2014 recipient of the Ohio State Bar Association’s Nettie Cronise Lutes Award. Sowald received the award during the OSBA Annual Convention in Columbus.

The Nettie Cronise Lutes Award, named for the first woman to practice law in Ohio, was created by the OSBA Women in the Profession Section to recognize women lawyers who have “improved the legal profession through their own high level of professionalism and who have opened doors for other women and girls.” ... Read More

OSBA recognizes Cincinnati Attorney for ethics and professionalism

Cincinnati attorney George D. Jonson received the 2014 Eugene R. Weir Award for Ethics and Professionalism. The Weir Award recognizes exceptional professional responsibility among Ohio lawyers and was presented to Jonson during the Ohio State Bar Association Annual Convention in Columbus.

“For many years, George has provided advice to attorneys and judges in disciplinary actions. It is for his dedication to helping lawyers and judges honor their professional and ethical obligations to the profession that he has been selected to receive the Weir Award,” OSBA President Jonathan Hollingsworth said. ... Read More

New Lawyer-Legislator Award recognizes District 77 State Representative

State Representative Gerald Stebelton of Lancaster received the inaugural 2014 Ohio State Bar Association Lawyer-Legislator Distinguished Service Award. The OSBA established the award this year to recognize Ohio lawyers who also provide exceptional service as Ohio legislators. Stebelton received the award during the OSBA Annual Convention in Columbus.
Mary Amos Augsburger, OSBA executive director and former legislative counsel, said that the association created this award to honor members of the legislature who have been “true friends of our profession.” She added, “I have had the privilege of knowing Rep. Stebelton, and I’m delighted that the Association has recognized his promotion, preservation and advancement of the administration of justice and the improvement of the law during his service in the Ohio General Assembly.”Read More

Dayton attorney receives state award for volunteer service

Dayton attorney Kermit Lowery received the 2014 John C. and Ginny Elam Pro Bono Award from Supreme Court of Ohio Chief Justice Maureen O’Connor at the Ohio State Bar Association Annual Convention in Columbus. The award recognizes and encourages outstanding pro bono legal work in the state of Ohio.
Lowery was nominated by the president and staff of the Greater Dayton Volunteer Lawyers Project (GDVLP), who wrote: “Mr. Lowery is the picture of what makes an outstanding attorney and a compassionate individual. His dedication to his profession, his community and his country is reflected in everything he does, every day.” ... Read More

Former Supreme Court of Ohio Justice receives state bar's highest honor

Evelyn Lundberg Stratton, who retired in 2012 after 16 years of service on the Supreme Court of Ohio bench, received the Ohio State Bar Association’s highest honor, the Ohio Bar Medal Award, during the OSBA Annual Convention in Columbus.

“The Ohio Bar Medal recognizes individuals whose service to the legal profession, the community and humanity is unusually exemplary,” OSBA President Jonathan Hollingsworth said. “Not only was Evelyn Lundberg Stratton the first elected woman judge of the Franklin County Court of Common Pleas, but during her years on the Supreme Court of Ohio, she formed the Supreme Court of Ohio Advisory Committee on Mental Illness and the Courts. Her list of accomplishments is long and we are truly grateful for her many contributions to the legal profession." ... Read More



Staff Directory

Contact Information


8 A.M. - 5 P.M.
Monday - Friday