Hollon named as Constitutional Commission’s executive director

After 15 years of leading the Ohio Supreme Court, it was announced today that Administrative Director Steven C. Hollon will leave his position at the court and become executive director of the Ohio Constitutional Modernization Commission.

“It is with great sadness that I will be leaving the Supreme Court, but it is also with a strong sense of accomplishment,” Hollon said. “We have been able to bring forward many innovations over the years that have helped improve the operation of the court and the administration of justice statewide. Now, I look forward to the once-in-a-lifetime opportunity of working with some of Ohio’s finest citizens and legislators in reviewing and making suggestions for improving Ohio’s constitution. I greatly appreciate the trust the commission has shown in me and will provide all members with my highest effort.”

Hollon is one of only five people to serve in the position established in the 1968 Modern Courts Amendment, and he is the longest serving administrative director in the history of the court. He served under three Chief Justices and 16 justices during his tenure.

He led the renovation and the Supreme Court’s move to what would become the Thomas J. Moyer Ohio Judicial Center, initiated and led the process for adopting the court’s first administrative policies, instituted the court’s Professional Excellence Awards, and oversaw the establishment of the Ohio Courts Network, among many other initiatives.

“Over the course of time, Steve Hollon molded the administrative structure of the Ohio Supreme Court into an efficient, modern organization that is viewed in the highest regard across the United States,” said Ohio Supreme Court Chief Justice Maureen O’Connor.

“For 15 years, Steve has led with distinction and vision and has literally brought the Supreme Court into the 21st Century,” she said. “There is no one more qualified in the state of Ohio to lead the effort to review the Ohio Constitution.”

Chief Justice O’Connor said the court will share details in the coming weeks on the process that will be followed for hiring a new administrative director. Hollon’s exact departure date has not been determined.

The 32-member commission Hollon will now lead is charged with conducting a detailed review of the current provisions of the Ohio Constitution, identifying perceived problem areas, and submitting a report proposing specific amendments for consideration by the General Assembly. It was established through House Bill 188 of the 129th General Assembly.

In an Aug. 8, 2013, news release announcing the search for an executive director, the commission noted that it was looking for a person to “fulfill highly advanced policy development and administration” and who possessed “a general understanding and knowledge of constitutional law.”

Hollon served as the president of the national Conference of State Court Administrators and is well known nationally as an expert in judicial administration.

Hollon joined the Supreme Court in February 1999. As the senior non-elected officer of the Supreme Court, he, along with the Chief Justice and Justices, the Ohio Judicial Conference, and the judges of the state, is responsible for developing and communicating the long-term vision, values, and direction of the Supreme Court and the judicial branch.

Before coming to the Supreme Court, Hollon served as the administrator/staff counsel from 1995 to 1999 for the Second District Court of Appeals. From 1983 to 1990, he served as the administrator/staff counsel for the Twelfth District Court of Appeals. In between working at the appellate courts, Hollon practiced law with Parrish, Fryman & Marcum.

Hollon was admitted to the Ohio bar on Nov. 6, 1981. He received his bachelor’s degree in history and communications from Muskingum College, a master’s degree in communication from Miami University, and his law degree from the Ohio Northern University Claude W. Pettit College of Law.

Content courtesy of Court News Ohio.



Staff Directory

Contact Information


8 A.M. - 5 P.M.
Monday - Friday