OSBA certifies paralegals (+video)

Business peopleThe Ohio State Bar Association administered its credentialing program for paralegals, allowing them to be designated as an “OSBA Certified Paralegal.” The OSBA announced the certification of 25 paralegals who have met the requirements to earn this designation. (View list of names below.)

“OSBA Certified Paralegals meet objective and uniform standards of competence and professionalism,” said OSBA President Jonathan Hollingsworth. “That’s a good thing for law firms and their clients. We welcome paralegals as members of the OSBA, and recognize their role in working with lawyers to assist Ohioans everyday.” 

By definition, a paralegal eligible for OSBA certification is a person, qualified by education, training or work experience, who is employed or retained by a lawyer, law office, corporation, governmental agency or other entity and who performs substantive legal work for which a lawyer is responsible.

An applicant must meet the definition of a paralegal and becomes eligible to sit for the written examination only after a successfully meeting specified education/experience, continuing legal education, and reference requirements
The certification period for an OSBA Certified Paralegal is four years. Biennial reporting is required to maintain certification. At the end of the certification period, a paralegal may be recertified if the continuing legal education and reference requirements continue to be met.

A Paralegal Certification Board was established with members appointed by the OSBA president. The purpose of the OSBA Paralegal Certification Board is to grant, revoke or re-grant certification as an OSBA certified paralegal. The Certification Board determines eligibility, administers the written exam and sets passage rates.

2013 OSBA Certified Paralegals

Molly M. Donohue, Nationwide Trial Division
Karen W. Yahr, Meyers Roman Friedberg & Lewis
Sandra L. Rawnsley, Soin International LLC
Dana Harding, Daniel P. Seink Co. Ltd.
Kari A. Elliott, O’Connor Acciani & Levy Co. LPA
Kimberly S. Lankester, Keating Muething & Klekamp PLL
Erin T. O’Malley, Law Office of Michael F. Farrell
Kasey A. Vandegrift, Tucker Ellis LLP
Vicki E. Babbert, Ice Miller LLP
Gwen A. Brooks, Manley Deas Kochalski LLC
Bobbadean M. Lawrence, Owens & Manning
Patricia A. Wilkinson, Wright Law Office
Lori L. Miller, Barrett Easterday Cunningham & Eselgroth LLP
Karen R. Bressman, David A. Bressman, Atty. At Law
Christine A. Pullins, Wright Law Co., LPA

Amanda M. Thomas, Lorain County Prosecutors Office
Kimberly A. Fadel, Wegman Hessler & Vanderburg
Linda L. Hubach, Wegman Hessler & Vanderburg
Deborah Soboslay, Wegman Hessler & Vanderburg
Kathleen M. Freytag, Rumer & Maisch Co., LLC
Mimi DeGrow, Miamisburg Municipal Court
Grady G. Calhoun, Bajwa Law Office
Kelly A. Zebrowski, Shapiro, Van Ess, Phillips & Barragate, LLP
Sarah L. DeGennaro, The Lubrizol Corporation
Terri Pecjak, The Lurizol Corporation

 OSBA certifies paralegals



Staff Directory

Contact Information


8 A.M. - 5 P.M.
Monday - Friday