OSBA certifies lawyers as elder law specialists

The Ohio State Bar Association announced that 19 attorneys have been certified as legal specialists in elder law. The Supreme Court Commission on Certification of Attorneys as Specialists accredited the OSBA to certify attorneys as specialists in elder law in 2013. The Supreme Court of Ohio established the Commission on Certification of Attorneys as Specialists to identify specialties and set minimum standards for specialty certification.

OSBA-certified elder law specialists include Mitchell J. Adel of Monroe, Jesse B. Beasley of Dayton, William J. Browning of Worthington, Donald H. Chapin of Dublin, Sandra Watkins Cleaver of Canton, Thom L. Cooper of Centerburg, Richard E. Davis of Canton, Gregory S. French of Cincinnati, Rachel Anne Kabb-Effron of Beachwood, Margaret H. Kreiner of N. Canton, Janet L. Lowder of Cleveland, Dennis G. Mille of Middleburg Heights, Michael J. Millonig of Dayton, Patricia Schraff of Willoughby Hills, Daniel P. Seink of Brecksville, Laurie G. Steiner of Beachwood, John P. Stewart of Mansfield, Marta J. Williger of Munroe Falls and Phillip T. Wylkan of Fremont. They are the first to also receive dual certification, in that they were previously certified in elder law by the National Elder Law Foundation.

Elder law is the legal practice of counseling and representing older persons and their representatives about the legal aspects of health and long-term care planning; public benefits; surrogate decision-making; legal capacity; the conservation, disposition and administration of estates; and the implementation of decisions concerning such matters. Elder law attorneys also give due consideration to the applicable tax consequences of various actions.

“We commend these elder law attorneys who have earned dual certification,” said OSBA President Martin E. Mohler. The certification process is demanding, but the additional effort required provides good value for the attorneys as well as for the public.”


Attorneys interested in becoming certified specialists in elder law should take note that applications for certification will be available online in January 2015, and that the application deadline date is June 30, 2015. 

Attorneys who elect to become certified specialists in Ohio are required to attend additional hours of continuing legal education, devote a substantial portion of their practice to a specific area of the law, and earn the respect of their colleagues. Attorneys who have earned a specialty certification must be recertified at least every six years.

For more information about becoming a certified specialist in elder law, visit www.ohiobar.org/specialization​ or call Melissa Quick at (614)487-4411.​



Staff Directory

Contact Information


8 A.M. - 5 P.M.
Monday - Friday