OSU law student receives OSBA Environmental Law Award

The Ohio State Bar Association Environmental Law Committee announced that Dylan Borchers, a third-year student at The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law, is the winner of its 2013 Environmental Law Award. Borchers’ winning paper is titled Electric Aggregation and the Story of Ohio’s Move to Competitive Retail Electric Markets.

The OSBA Environmental Law Award call for papers sought manuscripts that advance the application and practice of environmental, energy or resources law in Ohio. As the winner of this contest, Borchers received the OSBA Environmental Law Award and a prize of $1,000, donated by McMahon DeGulis LLP. Brittany Gunther of Salmon P. Chase College of Law received an honorable mention.   

According to Borchers, the purpose of his paper was to provide an overview and analysis of electric aggregation in Ohio, including state laws that deregulated the retail market and opportunities for achieving policy goals such as increasing renewable energy use. In his conclusion, Borchers stated, “Aggregation has played a valuable role in creating access to the competitive market for certain customer classes and reducing electric prices for consumers.”   

Submitted articles were judged on the following criteria: relevance to the practice of law in Ohio; timeliness and importance of the selected topic; organization; quality of legal analysis; quality of legal research; and quality of the overall writing.

“We are pleased that in its fourth year the contest continues to grow and benefit the practice of environmental law in Ohio. This year, we had our first out of state finalist and we understand that this contest has led directly to employment of previous contestants with Ohio firms,” said Louis McMahon, partner at McMahon DeGulis LLP and chair of the contest subcommittee.

The review panel included these OSBA members:

  • Brian Cook, Ohio EPA Chief Legal Counsel;
  • Dale Vitale, chief of the Environmental Enforcement Section of the Ohio Attorney General’s Office;
  • Kristin Watt, chair of OSBA Environmental Law Committee;
  • Sandra Ramos, chair of OSBA Natural Resources Law Committee;
  • Sarah Lynn, counsel at SWACO;
  • Steve Samuels, counsel at Ice Miller; and
  • Michael McMahon, counsel at McMahon DeGulis.



Staff Directory

Contact Information


8 A.M. - 5 P.M.
Monday - Friday