Several OSBA members appointed to Supreme Court Commission on Professionalism

The Ohio Supreme Court has made several appointments to a commission that promotes professionalism among attorneys admitted to practice law in Ohio and aspires to advance the highest standards of integrity and honor among members of the legal profession.

The appointees to the Commission on Professionalism include Ohio State Bar Association members:

The Supreme Court also reappointed two OSBA members:

OSBA member and Cleveland attorney Marvin L. Karp, a partner at Ulmer & Berne with more than 50 years of experience, leads the commission as chair. Karp is in the final year of his second term. While the commission celebrated its 20th anniversary last year, Karp has been there from the beginning as he served on the committee that preceded the commission.

OSBA member and Cuyahoga County Common Pleas Court Judge John P. O’Donnell serves as the commission’s vice chair.

The commission’s membership (two current vacancies) consists of five judges, six lawyers, two law school administrators or faculty, and two persons not admitted to practice law in any state. Commissioners are appointed for three-year terms and may not serve more than two consecutive full terms.

Commissions are created by action of the Supreme Court. They exercise quasi-ministerial authority on behalf of the court and operate under rules or regulations adopted by the Supreme Court. Commission members serve by appointment of the chief justice and justices or a bar association.

Content courtesy of Court News Ohio.



Staff Directory

Contact Information


8 A.M. - 5 P.M.
Monday - Friday